These were the 5 shortlisted books in 2023:

Our judges Lucy Luck (Agent with CWA), last year’s winner Saba Sams, and Edge Hill University lecturer and short story writer Andrea Ashworth gave the prize to:

Bernie McGill for her collection This Train is For …

Naomi Booth won the Readers’ Prize.

Will Clark won the MA Prize.