Staff photo of Claire Parkinson

Professor Claire Parkinson


Claire is Professor of Culture, Communication and Screen Studies and Co-Director of the Centre for Human Animal Studies (CfHAS).

Dr Richard Twine


Richard is Reader in Sociology and Co-Director of the Centre for Human Animal Studies (CfHAS).

Brett Mills

Professor Brett Mills

Professor of Media

Brett is a CfHAS member and has published extensively in the field of human-animal studies.

Staff photo of Claire Blennerhassett

Dr Claire Blennerhassett


Claire is a Lecturer in Nutrition and Health.

Zayneb Allak

Dr. Zayneb Allak

English & Creative Arts

Zayneb is a Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing.

Staff photo of Victoria Foster

Dr Victoria Foster

Social Sciences

Victoria is a Senior Lecturer in Social Sciences.


Heather Marshall


Heather is a Senior Lecturer in Secondary Humanities Education.


Sarah Schofield

Creative Writing

Sarah is a Lecturer in Creating Writing.


Olatz Aranceta-Reboredo

Visiting PhD researcher

Olatz is visiting until December 2023 from the University of Pompeu Fabra, Spain.

Staff photo of Kerri Waters

Kerri Waters

PhD Researcher

Kerri is a PhD researcher and CfHAS member. Her project is externally funded by the charity VIVA.

Staff photo of Cameron Dunnett

Cameron Dunnett

PhD researcher/GTA

Cameron is a PhD researcher, GTA and CfHAS member.

Staff photo of Abi Masefield

Abi Masefield

PhD researcher

Abi is an advisor to the EU development section and a CfHAS PhD researcher.

Staff photo of Katherine Jones

Katherine Jones

PhD Researcher/GTA

Katherine is a PhD researcher in Health and a CfHAS member.

Staff photo of Bianca Friedman

Bianca Friedman

PhD Researcher

Bianca is a PhD Researcher, GTA and CfHAS member. Her project is entitled ‘The construction of the equine point of view: strategies and implications of film representation of equine characters’.

Jesse Hill

Jesse Hill

PhD Researcher

Jesse’s project is entitled ‘The Sabbats: Revolving Ecomedia Poetics’


Professor Jody Berland: (CfHAS Visiting Professor 2017-2020)

Dr Luke Blazejewski (Independent scholar)

Dr Tobias Linne (Lund University)

Dr Donelle Gadenne (Winchester University & CfHAS Graduate)

Dr Helena Pedersen (Stockholm University)

Dr Karynn Capilé (Visiting PhD student 2017)

Dr Naomi Griffin (Postdoctoral Researcher)

Dr Lara Herring (Postdoctoral Researcher)

Dr Eva Marie Lindahl (CfHAS Graduate)

Dr David Gould

Dr Hannah Parathian

Dr Paula Arcari

Graham Bloor

CfHAS Advisory Board

The CfHAS Advisory Board is a non-voting informal body. The main role of the Board is to:

  • Advise on the direction of the Centre’s priorities to ensure that they harmonise with, support, work with and/or otherwise complement those of partner groups, networks, centres and other Human Animal Studies initiatives.
  • Provide insights on key Human Animal Studies developments and events.
  • Advise on priority issues and how best the Centre should engage with these.
  • Propose and advise, where appropriate, on funding opportunities that the Centre should pursue.

CfHAS Advisory Board members:

Professor Steve Baker (Emeritus Professor of Art History, UCLAN)

Dr Rod Bennison (Chair, Minding Animals International)

Professor Erica Fudge (University of Strathclyde; Director, British Animal Studies Network)

Kim Stallwood (European Director, Animals and Society Institute; Executive Director, Minding Animals International)

Dr Tom Tyler (University of Leeds)